KAAC Board Membership


The KAAC Board of Directors reviews, monitors and implements policy for the Kentucky Association for Academic Competition and the events it sponsors.


KAAC is beginning an expansion of its Board membership. Currently, there are two representatives each from eight geographic sections. Elections held in January 2020 will increase that number to three per section, resulting in a 24-member Board.

To ensure adequate staggering of Board terms, the terms for those elected in January will be of varying lengths.


  • The Board meets four times a year, typically in January, April or May, July and at the September KAAC Conference. Meetings are usually held in central Kentucky. The January meeting is a teleconference meeting.
  • Board members are also expected to Conference and the Governor’s Cup State Finals in March, and work when coaching duties do not conflict.
  • Board members are expected to attend faithfully all meetings, and to work.
  • Board members are expected to perform committee work in between meetings.


  • Board members are not compensated for their service per se.
  • Board members are reimbursed at the prevailing state rate for their travel to and from official KAAC functions.
  • For those who live outside a 100-mile radius of the official event, or for multi-day events like the State Finals or the summer retreat, KAAC provides lodging for Board members. Board members may request double beds to accommodate family members.  Family members are welcome at social events; if there is a per-person cost for such an event, that cost is paid by the Board member.
  • KAAC provides meals when they fall during the time of an official event.


Any school representative, coach, certified official or employee of a member school, or school district containing a member school, is eligible to be elected to the Board. There are no such requirements for appointed members.

In January 2020 nominations will open for all eight Sections:

Section 1 (2-year term)
Ballard, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden, Fulton, Graves, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken,  Trigg, Union, Webster

Section 2 (one 4-year term, one 1-year term)
Allen, Barren, Breckinridge, Butler, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Grayson, Hancock, Logan, McLean, Meade, Metcalfe, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Simpson, Todd, Warren

Section 3 (4-year term)
Anderson, Bullitt, Carroll, Franklin, Green, Hardin, Hart, Henry, LaRue, Marion, Nelson, Oldham, Owen, Scott, Shelby, Spencer, Taylor, Trimble, Washington

Section 4 (4-year term)

Section 5 (4-year term)
Adair, Boyle, Casey, Clinton, Fayette, Garrard, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, McCreary, Mercer, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Wayne,  Woodford

Section 6 (2-year term)
Boone, Campbell, Kenton, Bath, Bourbon, Bracken, Clark,  Fleming,  Gallatin, Grant, Harrison, Mason, Montgomery, Nicholas, Pendleton, Robertson

Section 7 (one 4-year term, one 3-year term)
Bell,  Breathitt , Clay, Estill, Harlan, Jackson, Knott, Knox,  Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Whitley, Wolfe

Section 8 (one 4-year term, one 3-year term)
Boyd, Carter, Elliot, Floyd, Greenup, Johnson, Lawrence, Lewis, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Pike, Rowan

Nomination forms are due January 31 – refer to the instructions on the form. Signees must be the official school representative from the member school, and nomination forms must have signatures from three different member schools.

KAAC Board of Directors Nomination Form

© 2020 KAAC | All rights reserved | Design by Code FortePrivacy Policy